Skip to content

Do You Believe In The Easter Bunny? – Carlin

March 30, 2012

 

Remember when you were young and your mom and dad used to hide colourful plastic eggs filled with chocolate and candy all around the house, with clues shaped like bunnies leading you to your next destination, and finally finding an exciting present at the end? This is how I remember Easter. I think of bunnies and baby chicks and pastel colours and lots and lots of chocolate.

The sad part about this, just like Christmas, is that once you get older, you stop believing in things like the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy and Santa Claus. Even though we still receive chocolate and gifts, it’s like the ‘magic’ isn’t there anymore. The thought that a big fat man coming down your chimney or a big white bunny leaving you Easter eggs around the house always got us excited, until we stopped believing. It’s sad to think that we have to grow up and can’t be children forever. If I could choose, I would stay a kid forever. No worries about anything; just fun all the time. We believed in fairies and mermaids and wizards, and anything else we saw on TV or read in a book. I remember I always wished I was a mermaid like Ariel in The Little Mermaid. Of course we know now that all those things aren’t real, but the thought at that young an age thrilled us. The excitement building up to those kind of events when we got to open gifts or find $2 under our pillow was like the best thing in the world. Just like the night before Christmas when we couldn’t sleep because we were so excited about the next day and finding out what Santa left for us. These things fueled our little brains with happy thoughts and imaginative ideas.

Even though I am now 14 years old, I can say that I still like to think that the Easter Bunny and Santa Claus are real. It makes me feel like I’m still a little girl. I want to believe because I never want to grow up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

