Skip to content

Swear Words: Useful or Just Crude? – Katie

February 16, 2012

Admit it, you’ve all been in that awkward situation when you said the
wrong word in front of the wrong people at the wrong time. There are
many wrong words you could say, but the one I’m talking about right
now are the words that come out of your mouth when you are
devastatingly sad, angry, or sometimes, excited. The words that you
would NEVER EVER want your grandmother to hear you say.

You used to think these words were so bad and awful when you were
younger but now you find yourself uttering it as if it was a spell
that can make everything better.

Study shows that the average usage of profanity every day vary from
between 0% to 3.4%. In comparison, first-person plural pronouns (we,
us, our) make up 1% of spoken words.

Don’t tell me you’ve never sworn in your life. You could be saying the
truth, and if so, kudos to you. When I was in elementary school and
middle school, I used to get terrified when I saw older kids swearing
so I thought to myself, ‘I’m not going to grow up into one of those
kids.’ Little did I know that I, along with almost everyone else that
I know would soon become one of those kids. I know that profanity is
rude. It is without a doubt, insulting; hence profanity is also known
as foul speech and a show of disrespect. Then why do we still use it?

What are you really supposed to say when you stub your toes
unexpectedly? What if it really really hurts and you feel like you
should display your pain publicly? When you’re walking in front of the
class with a folder full of paper and you drop them? When someone
deliberately slaps you, looks at you, make a funny face at you and run
away laughing? Would you be able to restrain the temptation to swear?
Would ‘ouch my toe really hurts’ or ‘oh no, I dropped everything’ or
‘why did you just slap me and run away with that face?’ really work?

I’m not defending profanity in any way, nor am I insulting profanity
(oh haha that’s rather funny) because if I did, I’d become a huge
hypocrite. I just think that we as teenagers do use way too much
profanity than necessary, and guess what. People now start using
swearing words from other languages. As a native speaker, it just
seems really pathetic when people swear in my language, AND THEY DON’T
EVEN SAY IT RIGHT.

Profanity is not ‘just crude,’ I think it can be quite useful. I mean,
they are used in literature and art. It can be used to make a
statement, and to make a big impact. But when it is used; in class, in
front of elders, in front of children, with a purpose to sincerely
insult someone unnecessarily, it’s just crude. Let’s just keep, or try
to keep a balance between everything.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 6:09 am

    Not to defend profanity at all either, but the MythBusters did some testing about found that swearing increased a person’s pain tolerance by 30% from when they were simply using mild language.

    http://mythbustersresults.com/no-pain-no-gain

    -Emily V.

Leave a Reply

