Skip to content

Salmon Fishing -Sam

December 5, 2011

So, I was running around the house trying to find something to write about when I opened my freezer and came face to face with stacks and stacks of fish. To be specific, I have stacks and stacks of salmon in my freezer. I guess I should probably explain why there are plentiful amounts of fish in my fridge. For the past few years, my family and I have been going to Fraser River around September/October to go salmon fishing. Fishing is one of my dad’s favorite hobbies.

 

Salmon fishing relies on physical power. Pulling up a fish that jumps, whose home is the water, and can be up to 50 lbs is no easy task. During Chinook (or spring) salmon season, my dad usually fishes alone because the rest of us know we can’t pull one up. The Chinook salmon is the biggest of the salmon, averaging at 30-50 lbs each. If I tried to pull one up, I know I’d end up in the river.

Fishing is like playing a sport: the feeling you get when you succeed in pulling one up is like winning a game. You also need to have patience. You might have to try multiple times before you can hook up a fish properly. Another thing about fishing is that it pays off. Fish is getting pretty expensive, and rarely is it ever fresh. A license for fishing costs about $36 for an adult, and is free for children under 16. You need to buy a reel, rod, hooks, and line. They can be pretty expensive if you want good quality equipment, but in the end, it’s worth it.

This is one of the fish that we had in our kitchen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

