Skip to content

Wow- Katie

November 26, 2011

After receiving the email from Jen S, telling me that I need to send in a post for our class blog today, I was so confused that I had to go on the blog and read the previous blog posts incessantly, trying to find out what I was going to write about. And then I came across Sepehr’s post, “A Confession”. See, this was the first time I’ve read his post and the only thing that came up in my mind was, ‘Wow’.

I never knew he went through something that traumatic. Once again, I realize that you can’t judge or assume something about another person without getting to know that person.

And reading the post got me thinking. It’s human nature to blame things on people and pretend that all the bad and terrible misfortunes are happening to me and no one else. I it that all the time, even though I know that everyone is going through hard times and they all have sadness in their lives. On the other hand, oh how amusing it would be if people got the chance to read my diary full of rants about how terrible my life is. My entries would completely contradict the teachings of many wise people. (Let me straighten it out, not all my diary entries are as terrible as it seems like now that I completely butchered it.)

This is merely a thought that passed through my mind on this lovely Pro D Friday. Flat out, it is hard to admit to the fact that there are people in this world that are going through things worse than anything you will ever come across. I hate to admit that I don’t look beyond myself as much as I should be. Then again, I know it’s true so I end up crawling into a corner and promise myself that I will change starting now.

I’m not telling anyone to crawl into a corner and go into depression, but it would be nice if everyone took a moment to think about all the good things that are happening in their lives and stop complaining about the insignificant things. To start things off, I promise to the world that I will try to restrain myself from complaining about anything for the rest of the week.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

