Skip to content

A Notable Night- Leanne

November 19, 2011

At three o’clock on November 16th, I was thinking “Oh. My. God. I can’t wait until this is over.”

Now, I’m forced to face the fact that I never get to do an eminent person project again.

Yesterday night was perfect. The costumes were spectacular, the learning centers were amazing, and the speeches- holy cow, those speeches- were mind blowingly splendiferous.

The preparation began at noon. There was much freaking out, cutting, glueing, writing and polishing, and by around three, everyone was mostly prepared. Then the real madness began.

Between pizza and costumes and learning centers and juice boxes and projectors and power cords and duct tape (or, rather, lack of) and broken heels and maps and double sided game sheets, I’m amazed that we managed to pull off the night as wonderfully as we did. But hey, we did it, so it doesn’t matter what happened beforehand.

The meet and greet went by too fast. It was so cool, pretending to be someone I admire and idolize, and even cooler when people went “Oh, Kathryn Bigelow! The Hurt Locker lady!” and knew who I was. All too soon, I was ushered to the stage by another member of the film industry, and we took our seats in the front row with the rest of the afternoon TALONS. During the morning group’s amazing speeches, I surprised myself. I had thought that I would spend every second before I had to give my speech rememorizing and hyperventilating and trying to stop my knees from shaking. Oddly, I was quite calm. I listened to and loved the speeches, and when it was my turn to walk up on to the stage with the rest of the afternooners, I was hardly nervous.

That nervousness did increase, however, and at leaping, jolting intervals. I was completely fine during the first speech, then only slightly terrified, then my mouth became so dry I could hardly swallow, then a lot terrified, and by the end of the speech before mine, my heart was thumping so loudly that I can honestly say I couldn’t hear the last two words of the speech. But when I walked up and started talking, my voice was loud and didn’t crack, my knees didn’t shake, I didn’t drop my Oscar, and most importantly, I didn’t trip over my own feet.

The speech was over as soon as it had begun, and then I was turning around and once more taking my place between Bill Nye and Charlie Parker. I breathed a relieved sigh and smiled wide.  The rest of the speeches I could hear over my heartbeat (and good thing too, because boy were they good) and then we were bowing, and leaving the stage. We were bombarded with hugs and “YOUR SPEECH WAS SO GOOD”s and then it was all over.

You never realize how truly awesome something is until you realize that you don’t get to do it again. At least, with TALONS, we can always come back and remember our moment.

So, thank you TALONS, nines and tens, alumni and teachers, for making this Night of the Notables the biggest and best that we’ve ever seen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

