Skip to content

THE Talons Song (2011, anyways) – Iris

September 26, 2011

“Home, let me come HO-O-OME.. Home is wherever I’m with you…” If you had been on the TALONS adventure trip, you would of heard that. A lot. Actually, you would have heard it ever since the second night when we all sat around campfire and let that beautiful song fill the night air. After that, well, I really liked the song, and I only ever heard it twice, so I only managed to learn the first few lines. I sang it a couple (many) times over the course of the next few days. Yes, that lovely song was a little bit stuck in my head, and pretty quickly, it wasn’t just me. By the last day, the mildly annoyed people gave in, the noobs like me learned some more verses, and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros made themselves heard. The verses weren’t in order and we couldn’t really whistle, but hey, it was a masterpiece.



If you are feeling curious, or one day the question, “What song is that awkward (awesome, and extremely talented, no jokes here) group of kids singing?” passes your mind, I have here an answer for you. I have to say, the title is fairly obvious, as it is in every line of the chorus. And we’ve made some changes, so you might not be able to recognize it. But here it is.. It’s the TALONS’ INCOMPARABLE, INDESCRIBABLE VERSION OF: EDWARDE SHARPE AND THE MAGNETIC ZEROS’ GREATEST SONG: HOME. DEDICATED TO THE MR. JACKSON AND MS. MULDER.

(There’s a video of our debut at in-depth night below. Please, do check it out. You get to hear our teachers laughing at its awesomeness)

Intro (with whistling)

TALONS classroom, 204,
This program I do adore
Not the way that I do love you (while pointing)

Well, Holy, Moley, me, oh my,
It’s the apple of my eye,
Man, I’ve never loved one like TALONS.

Man oh man its my best friend,
I scream it to the nothingness,
There ain’t nothing more I need.

Well, steep and sweaty, humpback hills,
Bikes and hikes and first aid drills,
Ain’t nothing please me more than this.

Ahh Home. Let me come home
Home is wherever I’m with you
Ahh Home. Let me go ho-oh-ome.
Home is wherever I’m with you.

*Trumpet Section*

La, la, la, la, take me home.
Mulder, I’m coming home.

I’ll follow you into the park,
To the outhouse, through the dark
Class, I’ve never loved one like you

Tents, accents, and lots of falls
Biking lanes and tons of lawls (lols)
I’ve been everywhere with you

That’s true

We laugh until we think we’ll die,
shirtless on a soccer night
Nothin’ new is sweeter than with you

And in the streets we’re riding free
like it’s only you and me
JEEPERS (Gee), we’re something to see.

Ahh Home. Let me come home
Home is wherever I’m with you
Ahh Home. Let me go ho-oh-ome.
Home is wherever I’m with you

Trumpet Section

La la la la take me home
Jackson, I’m coming home.

“Donya?”
“Liam?”
“Do you remember that day we joined the TALONS program?”
“I sure do, you came running in right after me.”
“Well, you realized that this program was the real deal, and you were freaking out all over the place!”
“Yes, I was.”
“Well, there’s something I never told you about that day.”
“What didn’t you tell me?”
“While we were sitting on the couch in the back of room 204, I was falling deep, deep in love with this program.” (chorus: d’awwwww)
“Cool Story Bro!!!”

Ahh, Home
Let me come Home
Home is whenever I’m with you
Ahh, Home
Let me come Home
Home is when I’m alone with you

TALONS classroom, 204,
This program I do adore.
Tents, accents, and lots of falls
biking lanes and tons of lawls (lols)

Ahh, Home
Let me come Home
Home is wherever I’m with you
Ahh, Home
Let me come Home
Home is when I’m alone with you

Lyrics arranged by Jonathan Toews, Iris HungEmily Van der Velden, and all of the 2010-2011 TALONS.

Post written on June 6, 2011

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

