Skip to content

Bittersweet Endings – Kelly

June 13, 2011

With the adventure trip over, in-depth wrapped up, and the year winding to a close, it is a very exciting time of year.  There are officially six days left of TALONS for me and the rest of the grade tens, and it is a pretty emotional time.

I would say I am ready to move on from TALONS.  It has been an amazing two years and I would not exchange it for anything, but there are a lot of things I will miss terribly, things that only TALONS can offer.  In any other class, you will not become as close knit of a group.  You will never experience a sense of family with people you only see for an hour a day.  You will also never have the same sort of relationship with your teachers as you do in TALONS.  But I think the thing I will miss the most from TALONS is the very thing I am ready to do because of it: Step outside of my comfort zone and begin a new adventure.

There are so many things too look forward to and so many things to be afraid of, but that all comes next September.  For right now, I am focusing on the time that is left.

On Friday, I went on my last TALONS field trip.  Ever.  We went to see Bard on the Beach, and it was amazing, and it was generally just a really fabulous evening.  Between hanging out at Kitsilano beach and trying to listen to the hockey game and seeing a play and just having a fun night, it slipped by all of us that this would be the last time we were all together.  It was the last time that all of TALONS, both the morning and the afternoon classes, would be together outside of school, away from classrooms and books and exams and studying.

As I write this, so terribly excited for school to be over and summer to begin, I can’t help but wonder how things could have been different.  If any one person had decided against coming to TALONS, the group could have been so different.  There are so many tiny alterations that could have changed our past two years so completely.

Looking back over the past two years, sure, there are some things that could have been different.  Yes, I wish I had worked harder on a certain assignment or been more involved with certain events or made some different choices, but I guess that is all in the past and we have all created ourselves over the past two years to the point that we are not the same people who walked through the doors of Classroom 204 in September 2009.  And now that we are moving on to the next chapter of our lives, I am really looking forward to growing and creating myself once again, and becoming the person I will be after TALONS is over.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

