Skip to content

The Most Wonderful Time Of the Year – Andrew

May 19, 2011

Adventure Trip is strange.  Like most good things in life, you spend most of the time desperately wishing it would come faster, but once you arrive at that stage, you wish that time would go slower.  I’ve spent this entire year looking forward to Adventure Trip, and now that it’s tomorrow, I wish that we could go back a couple of months.  Because I know that there are 4 big things that happen in TALONS, Retreat, Eminent person, In-depth, and Adventure Trip.  And I know that after Adventure Trip, TALONS will basically be over.  One more month, of the best two years of my life so far.  One more month, to savor the friendships I’ve made.  One month, until we’ll be separated, each of us going our separate ways.  It’s something incredibly sad.  Knowing that I won’t have as many classes with these people, won’t be as close.  I really feel like I have gotten to know the other 14 kids in my grade really well.  They know my strengths and weaknesses, I know theirs.  When we do a group project, we all know our roles.  We all know who does what, who’s going to be project manager, who’s going to help out quietly, and push from the back.  We’re a well-oiled machine, and Adventure Trip is our prime.  It’s when we show off everything we’ve learned, when we get tested, and beat the tests.  The last two years, we’ve been building to this point, slowly developing, until now.  When we have to stand behind our words, and show what we’re capable.  It’s funny, because at the end of last year, we claimed there was no way we could step up and fill the Grade 10’s shoes.  We weren’t nearly as polished or prepared.  We weren’t one big unit, we were several small cliques.  We didn’t have that kind of seamless communication where everyone seemed to know what to do.  Yet, as this year goes by, I’ve seen the changes.  Now, at lunch, we all eat in one big group.  We’ve figured out the different assets everyone brings to each projects.  Who can act, who can write, who can tech it up.  I have and cherish a personal connection between every single one of my fellow Grade 10’s, and I know that we will support each other on this trip.  We cover for each other, we have each other’s backs.  We don’t throw anyone under the bus.  We’re a family.  Albeit, a multi-cultural, extremely diverse family with many clashing opinions on both large and minute topics, from politics, to even something as simple as how best to pack a cooler.   There have been many disagreements, but I know that these 14 kids would never desert me in my time of need.  And I know I would never desert them either.  As the saying goes, “You win as a team, you lose as a team”.  Right now, we’re a team, and we’re going to continue to be as good of on as we can be.  I know the school year isn’t over yet, but it seems like it is.  I plan on savouring these last few weeks with these people, and if I had the chance to do it all over again, I wouldn’t change a thing, because I know that each dip and valley has helped to forge us into who we are today.

As I write this, there is 8 hours until we’re at school tomorrow.  8 hours until it’s show time.  We’re ready.  Are you?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 6:03 am

    Something tells me you are more ready, than you think you are. Enjoy your Adventure Trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

