Skip to content

Almost a Year Gone By – Chelsea

May 2, 2011

It feels like just yesterday that I first walked into Gleneagle. I knew this year was not only going to challenge me academically, but would also force to make totally new friends. To be honest, I was scared out of my mind. I didn’t think I would fit in; I’m not the smartest, I’m not a leader, and I’m not the best at making friends.

For the first couple weeks of school, I would get so nervous on the car ride over, it would just about make me sick. I spent hours talking to my old friends over Facebook, and wondering how different my life could have been. I tried to keep up with all the other students in the class, but it always seemed that whenever I did something I was proud of, there was always someone who did it better.  I tried to make new friends, but there were already really close groups of friends, so I never really felt like I fit in.

When the retreat came along, I was determined to really make an effort at forming friendships. Not to say I didn’t have any friends, but I felt like there were so many great people that I was missing out on meeting because I was okay staying with the four or so people I’d quickly become close with. I thought to myself the night before the retreat, that if I didn’t try out myself out there and make new friends, I would just be wasting my time in this program.

I did try, and it really paid off. I managed to really get a look at the group of amazing people I was lucky enough to spend the next year or two with. The retreat was a turning point for me. I realized that I didn’t want to be in a regular classroom, full of normal students. I wanted to be here.

The months seemed to fly by, and now we find ourselves eagerly preparing for the adventure trip. It’s really bittersweet though. This is the last time we’re really going to be together as a group. And while I know it’s going to be a really amazing trip, I can’t help but feel a little sad, because it’s a reminder that we only have a little more than a month together. Soon, everything we had together could be forgotten, and pushed aside as nothing more that a distant memory.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what next year’s going to be like. Will we be able to step up and fill the shoes of our grade tens? Definitely not! One of the things I love most about being in TALONS is that I know it’s never going to be the same. Next year, we’re going to be the role models for the grade nines. We’re going to be the ones they look up to. So, while we won’t have the same things our grade tens brought to the table, we’ll all be able to grow and bring new things.

I’m looking forward to next year. But I know that I’m going to miss my TALONS family more than anything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

