Skip to content

The Power of Music – Jen A.

March 24, 2011

What’s something you can sing to, dance to, cry to and jump to? Music.

______

I collapse onto my bed, broken.

I reach for the stereo.

My hand presses the button I hope will numb my troubles.

The sounds begins to vibrate from the speakers.

I turn the dial, letting the sound fill the room.

Letting it fill my head.

Each strike of the piano key draws me in.

My body moves to the beat of the music.

I listen to her voice as it speaks to me, and I speak back.

I sing back.

“Trippin’ out, spinnin’ around

I’m underground

I fell down

Yeah, I fell down.”

The music weaves into my heart.

I feel my voice strengthen with hers.

I feel the anger and the pain start to resurface.

“I’m freaking out, where am I now?

Upside down

And I can’t stop it now”

They have risen.

My fierce voice rips through the air.

As tears stream down my cheeks.

“It can’t stop me now, oh, oh

I, I’ll get by

I, I’ll survive”

My voice rings loud, though it is scratchy from the tears that still flow.

My body moves, needing to release the pain and anger that grips me.

“When the world’s crashing down

When I fall and hit the ground

I will turn myself around

Don’t you try to stop me”

I remember the strength I possess.

“I, I won’t cry.”

I start to wipe the moisture from my tear-stained face.

“I found myself in Wonderland.

Get back on my feet again

Is this real?

Is it pretend?

I’ll take a stand.

Until the end.”

I know this is real, that I have to face it.

“I, I’ll get by

I, I’ll survive

When the world’s crashing down

When I fall and hit the ground

I will turn myself around

Don’t you try to stop me

I, I won’t cry.”

That I can face it.

“I, I’ll get by

I, I’ll survive

When the world’s crashing down

When I fall and hit the ground

I will turn myself around

Don’t you try to stop me

I, and I won’t cry.”

The song ends, but its effect doesn’t.

I’m energized.

I’m lifting myself off the ground.

______

The lyrics are from the song “Alice” by Avril Lavigne, from the soundtrack to Alice in Wonderland.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

