Skip to content

Embracing Optimism – Kelly

March 10, 2011

Snowshoeing on Mount Seymour was, well, an adventure.

When it was first introduced that the Talons class would be participating in a snowshoeing trip, mixed results were received.  Some people were very excited.  Some people were indifferent.  And some people greeted this piece of knowledge with very dramatic groans.

I am slightly embarrassed to admit that I was in the last group of people.

I hate snow; I hate cold weather; I hate rain.  I basically just hate the winter, so being on a mountain for an entire day is not ideal.

Along with a couple of my friends, who had very similar feelings towards the trip as I did, I decided I was going to put all the negativity behind me, and be open-minded about the adventure that was presented before me.

And you know what?

It worked.

I can’t say that hiking through back trails in snow that is two meters deep with tennis racquets on my feet is the most ideal way I could spend my day, but I did have a good time.  I had some laughs with my friends, a few good conversations, I learned a lot about trees, and I had a really great workout.

To me, those things are more important than the fact that I couldn’t feel my toes for half of the day, and even hours later, they are still red and very sore.  My body is aching and my cold has gotten worse.  But it was still fun.

I guess this just goes to show you that, just like Mr. Jackson said in English one day, you really can create a new belief every day.  If I had given into the pessimism I felt about this trip, I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed myself.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

