Skip to content

Every Time – Mahalia

March 8, 2011

For some reason, whenever I feel blah, the radio just happens to play the most depressing song ever made. I swear, it happens every time.

Today, after I finished my I believe essay, I was feeling a little sad, thinking about my dad, and what comes on? Not just a sad song, but a song that reminds me of my dad. Oh great, I thought, now I’m going to burst into tears. But this time, I didn’t. It actually made me feel happy. After the song was done, I turned the radio off and searched the song on youtube and clicked replay so many times I can’t remember. It sort of made me feel like my daddy was here with me.

“Look at the stars. Look how they shine for you. And all the things that you do.”

Those were my favorite lyrics in the song because that’s something I can so imagine my dad saying to me.

I hope this doesn’t happen to me again though, because now it’s stuck in my head permanently I think. At least it’s better than having that new J-Lo song stuck in my head.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2011 10:13 pm

    Yellow by Coldplay right? I first heard that song at summer camp, and I think of my time there every time I hear it. I guess it’s just one of those songs. 🙂

  2. Ms. Ruhr permalink
    April 28, 2011 2:23 am

    Thank you for sharing such a personal thought. Music’s ability to soothe, heal, and help you remember the past is pretty amazing.
    P.S. Coldplay is definitely better than J. Lo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

