Skip to content

Thank You For Being Vulnerable – Kelly

March 3, 2011

The Vulnerability Survey Mr. J and I created last week is officially wrapped up.  Thank you so much to everyone who supported us, especially the students in Philadelphia who all gave us their support.  With 113 replies from people aging between 12 and 50, and from over 11 different locations around the world, I was able to get inside the minds of so many different demographics, who so graciously gave us some information.  I am very grateful.

Here is what I found out:

  • I was surprised to see that the results didn’t vary all the much globally.  I guess most of my results were from the Lower Mainland or Pennsylvania, so it probably wasn’t the most accurate test, but there was little variance across the board when it came to locations.  I looked at the Canadian results as a whole and the American results as a whole, and the general threads were very similar.  Internationally, it was much the same.  I think that a lot of the reason that the results are so similar around the world is because it was done online, and wasn’t widely spread.  The Vulnerability Survey was distributed primarily by way of Twitter.  There would be much different results if the people who took the survey were from different socio-economical classes, but because it was online, access to a computer is necessary, making it so only middle to upper class people could participate.  People of lower classes around the world would likely have much more primitive fears and vulnerabilities than the upper class of Canada and the United States.
  • A lot of the things that made young people vulnerable involved technology.  I read from quite a few people about feeling vulnerable when they didn’t have their cell phone or when somebody was looking at their iPod.  I also saw that a lot of young people consider them self a risk taker, but when asked why, they didn’t have very much to say to back it up.  I think that this implies that young people would like to believe that they are more outgoing than they actually are.  In terms of biggest fears, from youth I saw a lot of people say that they are afraid of being alone, are afraid of their parents at times, and are afraid of a lot of tangible things like spiders, snakes, or death.
  • The view of the world from the adults that I received information from was generally a lot broader.  A lot of vulnerabilities for adults were regarding money, or lack of it, power, or lack of it, and harm coming to loved ones.  There was a range of whether or not they believed themselves to be risk takers, but most people had reasons for their answer.  I think that this just shows that adults have seen a lot more of the world, so they have a better sense of how they react in certain situations.  The greatest fears of the adults in the survey had more to do with others and less to do with them.  Some of the most common fears that were given to me in the Vulnerability Survey were losing loved ones, harm coming to their families, not being able to provide for their family, stress, death, and the dark.

I would say that in general, this survey was a great experiment.  We were able to see inside the heads of others about very personal matters, and, I know that as a participant of the survey, I was able to find out a lot about myself while answering the questions.

Thanks again to all the participants.

Last week, Donya posted the word clouds I created from the results of each question that I received.

The Vulnerability Survey is still available to be taken, as it is a very great way to discover some very personal things about yourself, but the results will not be analyzed any longer.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 9:18 pm

    I think you did a great job parsing through the information and summarizing it. It is quite interesting that our fears are pretty universal. I wonder if that is due to popular media and what they show? Would these results have been similar 100 years ago or 100 years from now?

    Thanks for sharing.

    Mr. C
    NoelTigers.com

Leave a Reply

