Skip to content

How to Survive Being Sick #2 – Chelsea

May 10, 2011

Back in March, Meghan wrote a post on how to survive being sick.  Lying in bed sick and bored out of my mind, I went back to see what she said.

Tip #1: Sleep.

Most teenagers and adults don’t get enough sleep during the school week, especially teenagers. Consider this an opportunity to catch up on it so you’re not tired for when you finally to go back to your regular life, but also because it speeds up the healing processes for you feeling your best.

Tip #2: Movie/TV Marathons.

I was lucky enough to have movie marathons playing on TV a few of the days I was sick. On Saturday I watched How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, The Break Up, and Sex in the City. Now all of these movies are fairly long and with commercials it made them even longer. All together I probably watched TV for about eight hours straight. You can also catch up on that great TV show that you’ve been missing week after week. Great way to stay all curled up in bed to feel better, while being entertained.

P.S. This could also include your favourite YouTube channel, but for obvious reasons, will not last as long as movies or TV shows.

Tip #3: Apps, Apps, and More Apps.

This is something for all those people with smart phones, iPhones, and iPod Touches. I had just gotten a new phone so I started downloading ever app that looked slightly interesting to me. I would test it. If I liked it I would keep it, if not, I would uninstall it, simple as that. But it provided hours of entertainment just sitting there, trying games out.

Tip #4: Keep in Contact.

This is something we all need to remain sane. We need to be able to talk to people other than our family. Whether its texting, calling, or talking to someone over the computer it needs to be done. We need contact with our friends and talk to people with similar interests as us otherwise you will go loony.

This morning, when I went downstairs to tell my mom I wasn’t feeling well, the first thing she said to me was, “Just go back to bed, Chelsea”. This was followed by, “But, because I’m letting you stay home today, I expect you to be sleeping. No TV. No computer. No phone. Just sleep.” So, here’s my version of How to Survive Being Sick.

Tip #1: Sleep or Daydream

Sleeping when you’re sick is just about the best thing you could possibly do to get better. But, you can only sleep for so many hours. So, when getting out of bed isn’t an option (not just because of my mom, but the room goes spinning every time I try to get up), daydreaming is much more fun than just staring at the ceiling.

Tip #2: Read

I always have a million books lying around that I never have time to read. So, whenever I’m sick I try to finish one of them. Usually, I fall asleep after a chapter or so, but it’s worth a shot.

Tip #3: Break the Rules

Sorry mom, but after sleeping all night plus another 7 hours, I can’t sleep anymore. So, while you’re out at work I do watch TV. And text. And go on the computer (I am writing this, aren’t I?). It’s much better than just sitting around. I’m actually being productive!

And if you want some more unique things to do when you’re sick, check out this blog post. Finding it was the highlight of my day.

No comments yet

Leave a comment